Home > politics > Elections don’t really start in May

Elections don’t really start in May

I think the first time I saw it was just after Christmas. I couldn’t remember what I was doing but I’m sure I wasn’t particularly watching anything. TV was just turned on for the noise factor… and then it aired… a 30-second Holiday greeting from a Senator and his family. I know a lot of people have seen it and I’m sure I’m not the only one who found it weird. I mean, holiday greetings from politicians in banners across cable lines are normal (“Happy Fiesta from Councilor or Congressman or Mayor whatshisname) but NOT 30-second ad placements in television. I used to work in advertising and I have a fairly good idea as to how much a production of a 30-seconder ad would cost (including media placement) and trust me, it’s not cheap.

Initially, I’m biased. I think Ralph Recto only won as Senator last time because he’s married to the “Star for All Seasons”.  I’m not saying that the guy is completely incompetent; I just know that his timely marriage to Vilma was just that–TIMELY.  The political ad ban in the Philippines was lifted in the last elections and for those who were in media production, it meant profit.  The argument that the people needed to be properly informed about their candidates was kinda misunderstood.  How can people be informed with song-and-dance numbers and poorly written skits? I do not remember even one of them presenting their platforms via their ads. Of course, us in the advertising business couldn’t complain–these candidates meant profit to us.

The end of the ad wherein his somewhat effeminate son (the one with the unbelievably red lips. He’s just so tisoy!) says “Ko-Recto!” with a thumbs up sign just kills me. Pustahan tayo yan ang by-line ni Recto pagdating ng May. He’s either really smart or he has smart advisers (I’d bet my money on the latter) that he has come out with a commercial this early–way before the COMELEC has issued the rules and regulations regarding political ads.

But hey, he may argue that the ad is not really “political”. He didn’t really tell anyone to vote for him in May ’07… no… he just made sure that people remember him and the fact that he’s married to Vilma.

Categories: politics
  1. cj
    January 11, 2007 at 4:51 am

    tama! simula na rin ng madaming tv hostings at
    appearances ng mga tatakbo sa may…hay. here’s something funny and timely, when i went to laguna to visit my lolo and lola, guess what i found in one of their cupboards… a box of instant coffee with alma moreno’s face on it and the tagline… “ness-kape!” wahahahaha 🙂 really, it copied nescafe’s packaging.

  2. dyosa
    January 11, 2007 at 4:53 am

    hahaha… copyright infringement yun! bawal yun! bigger issue: Alma’s running? WHY?

  3. junior of california
    March 5, 2007 at 12:49 pm

    everybody is capable of running just like ALMA MORENO, if she thinks she can help Paranaque folks then why not,this is still a free country,right?

  4. March 5, 2007 at 4:59 pm

    it really depends on WHAT position actors/actresses are running for…
    If it’s an administrative position (mayor/vice mayor/councilor), possible. Anyone can be a good manager.
    BUT if it’s a seat for congress or the senate, i think someone with more knowledge of the constition should be better for the position REGARDLESS of whether or not s/he is an actor/actress.

  5. August 16, 2007 at 6:39 pm

    This is very nice and informative post. I have bookmarked your site in order to find out your post in the future.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

