Home > media law, personal > one-on-one with arnold clavio

one-on-one with arnold clavio

arnold clavio and meI’ve had a long-time crush on Arnold Clavio (I have a weakness for smart guys who make me laugh) so when the opportunity came for me to finally meet “Igan” face to face, I jumped at the chance.

I’m taking up a media ethics class this semester and as part of the course requirement, we’re required to interview media practitioners about ethics in the media. Being pressed for time, I asked the help of a producer-friend from the news department via a desperate text message. In less than 30 minutes, she was able to give me an interview appointment the very next night. Apparently, Mr. Clavio was more than happy to accommodate my request.

So armed with a video camera (courtesy of another friend) and my trusty digital stillcam, I waited until he finished anchoring Saksi.  I can’t stop smiling! Para akong tanga! Our initial meeting was a bit shaky on my part–I mean, I adore the guy! I don’t really get affected by celebrities but it’s different with people I actually like. Reviewing the tape afterwards, I thought I made a complete fool of myself. I’m usually quite articulate but during my interview I stammered and stumbled all over my questions. Talk about giving a good impression…

I never wanted to work for news because I have a very cynical point of view about people who actually work for the news.  But I guess my idol-worship or in this case, “arnold”-worship overshadowed my cynicism.  He made me feel that journalism is still an honest, honourable career.

I still need to edit the video and present it to class next week. I’m going to try and ask Mr. Clavio’s permission if I can post the final output on my blog.

Categories: media law, personal
  1. March 18, 2007 at 7:05 pm

    Hi ASPSG,
    It will be cool if you can post your video interview, it sounds interesting.
    =)
    Tirador

  2. March 19, 2007 at 3:22 pm

    I just got Mr. Arnold Clavio’s permission to post the video over the net… let me just present it to my class first. 🙂

  1. April 11, 2007 at 11:53 pm

Leave a Reply

