Home > personal > Thank God for Howie Severino

Thank God for Howie Severino

I’ve been depressed about work for the past couple of months. I am one of the most anti-routine people I know.  I don’t work well when I’m bored and it shows.  This is perhaps one of the reasons why I’ve had four jobs in the last six years (not counting the non-taxable “rakets” in-between) and why, despite a promising career in my present company and my still unfinished studies, I have been contemplating the idea of quitting.

My job right now would probably be the least stressful of all the jobs I’ve had since graduation.  Although I have connections, I started from the bottom and worked my way up.  My love affair with post production came hard and fast (I was also too vain to work on location).  As an editor, I’ve had my share of annoying and demanding clients and unforgettable projects (MILO EVERYDAY!!!).  I got used to sleepless nights and not having a real social life.

It took a while to get used to the relaxed atmosphere at my present job.  For the first time in my professional life, I actually have time to do other things besides work.  I’m not harassed by “weird” and insane demands by coñotic clients who don’t know what they’re talking about AND I get to go home everyday.  Stress is relative–I usually get freaked out by people and not the work itself.  This is easier to handle; you can’t ignore work but you can just simply forget that those people exist.

Perhaps I miss the feeling of accomplishment that I used to have after finishing a particularly harrowing project.  I haven’t had that sense of achievement for quite a long time now.  I’m not talking about awards and other superficial stuff like that–I’m talking about that “wow-I-can’t-believe-I-did-that” feeling after you see something that you’ve worked so hard for being watched and appreciated by people.  I guess to be frank about it, I’ve been feeling despondent and quite frankly, unappreciated.  The usual “Good Job!” and “Thanks!” just don’t cut it anymore.

Which is why I was breathing a silent prayer a few nights ago, thanking God for people like Howie Severino.

I received an email at work about a documentary screening sponsored by a “Docu Club” within the company.  The documentary was entitled The Cutting Edge, The Magic of Movie Editing.  On a whim, I decided to go.

I watched the film with two of my colleagues.  Howie Severino, a broadcast journalist, was there to give the opening remarks.  (Note:he actually mistook us for students! He made my night!)  To be honest, one of the reasons I decided to watch the film was because I wanted to see him in person.  I think Howie’s one of best writers and documentarists in this country.  He has this uncanny ability of making seemingly normal things interesting.

So, I watched the film.  And it was a good thing that I did.  It actually felt like a direct answer from God Himself.  It made me remember what I loved about what I do and it also made me realize that although I want to do other things, I will never, ever let go of editing.  I will always be an editor.  I finished the documentary with a sense of empowerment and with the knowledge that there are others out there who actually appreciate the job that I do.

Me with Howie SeverinoAfter the screening, I was able to have a few minutes with Howie.  Despite not knowing him personally before that day, I found myself admitting my despair over what I felt was the lack of gratification in my career.  He told me that he knew how I felt, how hard and how taxing our jobs as editors can be and how often people misunderstand the kind of work that we do.  Two simple words: “I know”.  It took a lot of self-control not to cry then and there (besides, dyahe naman yun kung iiyak ako sa harap nya no?).

I am surrounded by people who don’t like what they do but suffer through it because they have to.  Howie made me remember that I am one of the lucky few; I chose my career, it did not choose me.  And for that, I thank him. 🙂

Categories: personal
  1. May 1, 2007 at 7:21 am

    Hazel, Thank you for the compliments and for coming to our screening. I’m not worthy, but will make an effort to deserve them.

    By the way, while on sabbatical from TV a few years ago, I edited my own projects. That’s why I also know how hard editing is and how thankless it can be, but also how deeply satisfying when you produce something the way you envisioned it to be. Trudge on!

  2. May 6, 2007 at 5:57 am

    thanks sir howie…! and thank you for taking the time to respond to my rantings. God bless and more power! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

