Home > entertainment, personal > Spiderman3 felt like a soap opera with some punching

Spiderman3 felt like a soap opera with some punching

I was among the people eager to see Spiderman 3, the latest movie in the successful Spiderman franchise.  My boyfriend and I watched it last Thursday, May 3, a mere two days after it opened in theaters.

Needless to say, the movie did not live up to its hype.  Kudos to the marketing efforts of Sony.  It was so effective that I’ve been wanting to see this movie since late last year.  What a disappointment! Personally, I thought watching it was a waste of time and money.  I should have waited for it to show on HBO.

Hmmm… I think I’m being a little too cruel. There were some parts of the film I found funny (especially when Tobey did a pseudo-Saturday Night Fever scene) and the fight scenes were okay (take note that I said they were OK and not good).  I found the script overly dramatic, mushy and ho-hum. There were just too many scenes when I rolled my eyes with disbelief and almost barfed all over my popcorn.  I also think the production team went overboard with the graphics.  Unlike the previous two movies, you can now clearly see where the live action ended and the 3d stuff began.  As a result, the fight scenes looked too “cartoony” for me.

I couldn’t say more without including spoilers.  Let’s just say that since I’m not really a fan of melodramas, I did not enjoy this particular Spiderman.  I sincerely hope that this is not the last movie of the franchise.  If not, Sam Raimi and his team should better cook up something way better for Spiderman 4.

Categories: entertainment, personal
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

