Home > personal, travel > lessons and experiences from Singapore (on a budget!)

lessons and experiences from Singapore (on a budget!)

I recently visited my best friend in Singapore. Here are the stuff I learned and experienced in my trip:

– Singapore has decent and effective modes of transportation. For the tOn the trainhree days I spent there, I only took the cab twice: the first time when I arrived from the airport and the second time was when we (my friend and her friend) went to this night market. I basically relied on the buses and the MRT/LRT trains. This enabled me to tour the city on my own on my second day (my friend had to work) without any trouble.

– No jaywalkers. It amazed me that despite the lack of the big signages with “BAWAL TUMAWID, NAKAMAMATAY”, people there crossed the streets in the areas provided for pedestrians.

– The ipod (or any other decent mp3 player for that matter) can be your best friend. As I me and my ipodmentioned earlier, I toured the city on my own on my second day. Armed only with my ipod, a map and several “tourist” brochures, I was able to visit the Changi Museum (a must-see for history buffs) and the Singapore Zoo. My friend lives in the east end so travel time was about two hours more or less.

– When visiting a country that just advertised a nationwide sale, bring your credit card.

– Allot a big part of your budget for food and transportation. Both are expensive in Singapore. An average meal cost me around $4.00 while a bus ride cost me 90 cents per ride. Ginto ang taxi. The cab ride to the night market alone cost us $18.00! (SGD $1 = Php31.00)

underwater world– Do not scrimp on experience. The entrance to Underwater World in Sentosa is $20 while the entrance to the Singapore Zoo is $15. Both are worth seeing.

– Don’t be afraid to get lost. My friend and I stumbled on the Mint Museuat the MINT Museum of Toys (entrance)m of Toys on our way to a sale she heard about. It’s a great place for avid toy collectors and kids-at-heart.

– If you’re into home furnishings, kitchen stuff and the like, another must-see is IKEA. But be warned: this is one of the best places where you can be tempted to buy something you don’t really need. 🙂  Oh, and the food here is quite good too.

– The cable cars in Sentosa have automatic doors. Do not close them yourselves. 😀 Although it will take a while, the doors will close soon enough. Try not to take matters into your own hands (unless you want to look very stupid or very tourist-y).

– There’s a mall in almost every train station. I eventually got sick of shopping malls on my last day. They all started to look the same.

DO NOT FORGET YOUR CAMERA!!!

– Fashion should come second to comfort. Do not wear high heels. I learned this the hard way. 😦

I was also able to visit Malaysia (for a few hours) but I don’t think I saw the best of that country yet.

All in all, I spent around Php10,000 (excluding the air fare) for three whole days. 🙂 Not bad, if I do say so myself. 🙂

Categories: personal, travel
  1. sien
    June 6, 2007 at 6:36 am

    hahahaha! Galing mo talaga hazel magsulat!
    mukhang innocent tayo sa cable car incident…. its looks like you just gave warning (“not to be stupid”) to everyone. Nawala sa isip ko na hi-tech ang singapore. hahahaha!
    Miss you girl! hope to see you in august!

  2. June 7, 2007 at 2:22 am

    ikaw talaga binisto mo pa! hahaha! take care of yourself there and I’ll see you very soon! 🙂

  3. clare
    June 17, 2007 at 1:24 am

    hi, just blog-hopping…i was looking for reviews on travel spots in asia and found this post. i was thinking of thailand but after reading how you only spent 10thou for three days in Singapore, i’m thinking that might be the place to visit 😉

    btw, i like your posts, would you mind if i linked you up?

  4. June 17, 2007 at 4:13 pm

    @clare: sure! no problem! and thanks… 🙂

  1. June 16, 2007 at 4:22 am

Leave a Reply

