Home > books, personal > Books, Books, Books!

Books, Books, Books!

My love affair with books started early. My parents introduced me to books at an early age. I had multiple books on fairy tales and fables, a thick children’s Bible and the entire set of the Walt Disney Encyclopedia which I’ve all read from cover to cover. Because of a mistake, I was introduced to Nancy Drew (someone asked me to borrow a book at my school library and I got the author wrong) and my life took a sudden turn.

Looking back, I realized that I underwent several “phases” in my love affair with the written word. Being a sucker for lists, I tried to organize the types of books I got into over the years:

I. Pre-adolescent to Adolescent

The Mysterious MannequinNancy Drew – I used to save my meager allowance to buy a hard bound copy of Nancy Drew every few months; this was after I finished reading all the copies we had in the school library. Back in the 80’s, a hardbound Nancy Drew book cost me around Php69.00 (I visited Amazon and found out that a hardbound Nancy Drew book nowadays cost $7.00 which is around Php315.00). The first Nancy Drew book I ever read was The Mysterious Mannequin which I finished reading in just one day.

Sweet Valley Twins/Sweet Valley High – OMG! I remember going gaga over these pocketbooks with my classmates back in school. These were definitely my teeny-bopper books.

Choose Your Own Adventure – another addictive series. According to Wikepedia, these books used to be published by Bantam but are now currently published by a company called Chooseco. For those unfamiliar with the series, the books offer alternate endings which allow readers to choose how each adventure ends. Unfortunately, I don’t see any more copies being sold locally. If you know of a local bookstore which actually sells the series, let me know. 🙂

II. College years

I got into the classics such as To Kill A Mockingbird, Gone with the Wind, The Scarlet Letter and Bram Stoker’s Dracula to name a few. Blame it on UP but I also got into books written by Filipino authors such as F. Sionil Jose and Lualhati Bautista. My favorite Filipino novel though is Maynila, Sa Mga Kuko ng Liwanag by Edgardo M. Reyes. The movie version, which was directed by film icon Lino Brocka, is also an excellent film.

III. Young Pro

I really got into fiction novels in my early twenties. I read almost everything by anyone. From the top of my head, authors I read were John Grisham, Anne Rice, Stephen King, Daniel Keyes, Paulo Coelho, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Isabel Allende, Arundhati Roy, Milan Kundera and probably a lot more whose names now escape me.

I also got into children’s novels such as C.S. Lewis’ The Chronicles of Narnia and J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series.

IV. Now

The World is Flat by Thomas FriedmanAlthough I still read fiction novels, I’m more into the non-fiction stuff lately. The last book I read was Thomas Friedman’s The World is Flat. I also got hold of a semi-autobiographical book called A Million Little Pieces by James Frey. I want to buy that book about Google (whose title I forgot), Freakonomics, and Al Gore’s new book An Assault on Reason. Another book suggested by a friend of mine is The Tipping Point by Malcolm Gladwell. I finished Gladwell’s Blink a couple of months ago (thanks Louie!) and it totally renewed my belief on first impressions. I’m not ready for “solid” biographies though (Frey’s book can be considered an exemption since it’s marketed as a partial biography). I tried reading Winston’s Churchill’s biography and didn’t even finish the first page. I feel that there’s just something about reading someone else’s life that border on voyeurism…but that’s just me. I guess that’s one genre left unexplored. 🙂

Categories: books, personal
  1. clare
    June 17, 2007 at 1:25 am

    omg, i remember having that exact same nancy drew book in my kiddie years…i think i gave my ND books away when i was in college eons ago, lol.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

