Home > books, entertainment, movies, personal > Excited over Harry!

Excited over Harry!

THREE DAYS TO GO! THREE DAYS TO GO!

I got an email from Fully Booked telling me that the 7th Harry Potter book is going to be released this Saturday, July 21 (I reserved a copy last February).  In line with this, they will be opening their store at 7:00AM on that date.

I was able to watch Harry Potter and The Order of the Phoenix last weekend.  Despite the lackluster reviews of my peers, I liked it.  I think it’s probably one of the better Harry Potter movies.  As an avid fan of the book, I learned earlier to disassociate the novel from the movie otherwise, I would always be disappointed.  Besides, it would be impossible to include all the details in the novel within 2 hours.  Although I personally think that they could have executed the fight scenes better (I expected a more exciting fight scene at the Ministry of Magic), I think the production team did a good job.  Imelda Staunton as Dolores Umbridge stole the show–she was perfect!

Can’t wait to get my hands on the final book.  JK Rowling announced that one of the lead characters will die in the last book but which one? I hope it’s not Ron Weasley. Love him! I doubt that Snape’s really evil and I would really be surprised if I’m wrong…

THREE MORE DAYS TO GO!

  1. July 17, 2007 at 11:51 pm

    Hey there. I just stumbled across your site. I too am an avid HP fan and am eagerly awaiting the book on Saturday. I had reserved my copy ages ago to pick up at the midnight madness party on Friday/Saturday, but with an 8 month old who am I kidding? I’ll wait until the store opens on Saturday morning.

    I actually quite liked the movie. Sure it was really streamlined, but there was no way they could include everything from the book. I agree with you, though, about the Ministry of Magic scenes. I was really hoping for more… there was just so much there that would have been visually so stimulating.

    I’m also with you on the Snape assessment. I hope I’m not wrong. I love a bad good guy. 😉

  2. Sammy
    July 18, 2007 at 2:21 am

    I also stumbled on your site..

    Did you know there’s a copy of the book on the internet?

    Someone managed to get the book and took a photo of each and every page. It’s readable, but not worth it.

  3. July 18, 2007 at 2:43 am

    @sammy: I heard about the internet copy but resisted the urge 🙂 I can wait a few more days. Hope the wait will be worth it.

  4. clare
    July 20, 2007 at 12:28 pm

    i heard about the internet copy too, but i’d rather read the real thing…

    and i agree about not expecting too much with the movies … they really can’t put everything in there unless they want to make a movie as long as Titanic was…lol.

    happy weekend!

  5. July 23, 2007 at 8:14 am

    i hope you won’t kill me for not giving hp5 a warm review like the previous hp. m just a regular movie goer and never read the book, i guessed that’s why. 😉

  6. July 23, 2007 at 10:16 am

    eric: haha! I’m not going to kill you for not liking the new HP movie… to each his own. 🙂 granted, i was expecting that it’s not going to be as exciting as the earlier movies since the book was a “talkie”. The 6th HP book is a bit like that as well (as preparation for the final book) but it has a quite a shocking twist in the end. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

