Home > entertainment, news, personal, rants, television > Who the f**k is Wendy?!?

Who the f**k is Wendy?!?

Before I start, let me clarify that this is not an anti-ABS CBN post. 🙂 

I don’t get Pinoy Big Brother. Never been a fan. I mean, why would I be interested in watching a bunch of people I don’t know staying in one house doing nothing that makes sense?

Now I find out that one of the “housemates” has a show premiering tomorrow on ABS-CBN.  A certain Wendy Valdez is going to star in the network’s new soap opera entitled Margarita.  She will star opposite another PBB housemate, Bruce Quebral.  Here’s the full article I grabbed from the Inquirer:

ABS-CBN exec: ‘Margarita’ not pitted against ‘Marimar’
By Marinel Cruz
Inquirer
Last updated 07:13am (Mla time) 07/29/2007

MANILA, Philippines—Deo Endrinal, ABS-CBN vice president for entertainment, says the network decided to strike while the iron was hot, and made the controversial “Pinoy Big Brother” housemate Wendy Valdez the star of her own teleserye.

Wendy is Margarita in ABS-CBN’s newest prime time show that premieres tomorrow at 6 p.m.

“Whether or not people like her, we cannot ignore the fact that Wendy is being talked about,” Endrinal told entertainment writers in a gathering on Tuesday. “The show was conceived with her in mind.”

Wendy incurred the ire of PBB viewers due to her tiffs with two female housemates, Ge-Ann Abraham and Bea Saw.

Saw became the grand champion.

A model and former beauty queen, Wendy landed third place, behind Filipino-Swiss Mickey Perz. Abraham was declared fourth Big Winner.

Endrinal insisted that “Margarita” was not created to compete with GMA 7’s new series, “Marimar,” starring Marian Rivera.

“Margarita is a bittersweet drink—we patterned the character after it,” said Endrinal. “It doesn’t seem right to call [her] daiquiri or tequila.”

He confirmed that changes were made in the time slots of its “Primetime Bida” block to accommodate “Margarita,” but he noted that “Marimar” was set to premiere in August, in a different time slot.

For Wendy, being controversial is actually a plus factor. “Viewers will be curious to know what I’ve got to offer… that I can really act,” she said.

The 24-year-old belied reports that her rude behavior inside the House was intentional, in preparation for the TV series.

“To be honest, I really didn’t know they were cooking up a show for me. I was actually shocked to hear about it,” she said. “Whatever it was that transpired inside the Big Brother house happened because of different circumstances. Tapos na po ’yun.”

Playing opposite Wendy is real-life boyfriend and “PBB” housemate Bruce Quebral. Also in the cast are Elizabeth Oropesa, Diether Ocampo, Keana Reeves, Dick Israel, Rio Locsin, Joseph Bitangcol, John Manalo and Sharlene San Pedro.

Correct me if I’m wrong but the last time I checked, PBB is not a talent search, right?  I can understand why contestants from talent searches are given acting jobs afterwards even if they don’t really deserve them (some of them can’t act no matter how much they try) but to actually make stars out of controversial people just because they’re controversial is just something I can’t digest even after all these years.

ABS-CBN has a large pool of talented actresses who deserve the break more than this Wendy person.  She hasn’t even proved anything (in terms of acting) to be given such a break.  I can only surmise that since she is supposed to be a controversial figure, her popularity is being used by the network to get a fair share of the ratings in that timeslot.

There are rumors that Margarita is going to be pitted against GMA’s Mari Mar (with Marian Rivera) although this is denied by ABS.  In contrast to Wendy, Marian has proven that she is more than a pretty face–the girl actually has talent.

That said, I would be the last person to conclude anything about the Pinoy audience.  Unlike most of my colleagues, I hold the audience in high regard–we, the so-called “boob-tube” watchers–are not as stupid as most people think.  We should ask for more because we certainly deserve more.  We deserve thespians–actors and actresses who actually know what they’re doing.  I think we already have enough of “stars” with not enough value.

  1. clare
    August 2, 2007 at 1:29 pm

    my friend and i were talking about this recently. we don’t understand why these reality people end up in the acting thing too…ang weird!

    and i agree…marian does have talent…although i have to admit that i want to watch marimar only because of that billboard they have where dingdong dantes just looks so irresistable. ;P

  2. Jason
    August 3, 2007 at 7:04 am

    Wendy has a talent. They wouldn’t let her do that role if she can’t act. And from what i’ve seen in the show Margarita. She’s a good actress and she’s beautiful.

  3. August 10, 2007 at 10:45 am

    Claire: Oh yeah! Dingdong looks hot in that billboard… 🙂

    Jason: This is subjective… I really don’t think she’s a good actress and as I said on my post, I think she was given the role because she was controversial, not because she’s any good. But to each his own… just my two cents. 🙂

  1. August 22, 2007 at 7:25 pm
  2. September 3, 2007 at 8:03 pm

Leave a Reply

