Home > entertainment, philippines, sports, television > Manny Pacquiao, Kapuso Na!

Manny Pacquiao, Kapuso Na!

Boxer Manny Paquiao just signed an exclusive contract with Philippine television network GMA-7 last Saturday, September 8.  The Kapuso network reportedly has big plans for him; Manny will be doing a sitcom and a possible reality show. You can view the entire article about his contract signing here.

I think I shouldn’t be this surprised. I mean, it was only a matter of time…

I was among those who dissed Pacquiao when he decided to run as congressman and I was ecstatic when he lost. I was among those who raised an eyebrow when I found out that he was going to produce (and STAR!) in a Metro Manila Film Festival entry. But I never, NEVER flamed him for being a boxer. Pacquiao has proven time and again that he is among the best athletes our country has produced. I am grateful for the honor he has brought to the Philippines and I applaud his talent in the boxing ring.

Despite my admiration for his boxing skills, I did not buy his album(s) nor did I watch that Jericho Rosales movie based on his life. I do not understand why he can’t be more like Paeng Nepomuceno and Efren “Bata” Reyes who I think handled the fame and fortune that came their way a lot better than Manny ever did (I’m not counting that movie Efren made with FPJ. I mean, would you say “no” to Da King?).  Manny in a sitcom is a little mind-boggling–I’m trying to imagine him cracking jokes and the picture that comes to mind is Bong Revilla, Jr. with an accent (probably a little less irritating but equally ineffective).  I’m also wondering what kind of reality show he’ll be in… I’m crossing my fingers that neither of the shows will be live.

  1. clare
    September 12, 2007 at 7:22 pm

    i remember seeing an episode of extra challenge where manny cracked me up with his antics. natural comic sya, although i don’t know if he’d be effective acting funny than yung natural lang nya. sana the reality show would be something that would show that side of his that came out on extra challenge.

  2. September 13, 2007 at 1:30 am

    clare: I’m trying to reserve judgment talaga. I didn’t watch that extra challenge episode so I hope you’re right because if he’s anything like Bong… 😦

    oh, and nice avatar! 🙂

  3. clare
    September 17, 2007 at 10:04 pm

    thanks 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

