Home > food, personal, Uncategorized > Why Alicia Silverstone is a Stronger Person than I am.

Why Alicia Silverstone is a Stronger Person than I am.

I don’t think I can be a vegetarian. I love animals and I think I’m kinda pro-environment (I mean, I do my share: I throw my litter properly, try to save water, recycle, etcetera). I love vegetables and I think having a great body plus great skin would be a bonus. But I just can’t turn away from a nice, big juicy steak, a big piece of fried chicken or a plateful of perfectly buttered shrimps. Sorry, I love meat and I don’t see myself quitting meat anytime soon.
Needless to say, my hat’s off to serious, honest-to-goodness vegetarians out there. I guess I’m among the “weak”–I’m really not disciplined enough to be a vegetarian. It’s a fault that I readily admit to. I know not eating meat would do loads for the environment but I just can’t easily get over the fact that I was raised as a carnivore. I do get affected by the PETA stuff I’ve been seeing lately (specially that bit about Kentucky Fried Chicken…Freaky!) but I guess they’re not enough to “turn” me. Do I need to get more educated? Probably. And being surrounded by very active carnivores doesn’t help either. I mean, how can I be satisfied with a salad bowl when my boyfriend is sitting next to me with a T-bone?

The new PETA ad which features Alicia Silverstone made me think who can best represent us meat-eaters. Homer Simpson comes to mind… maybe it’s the lateness of the hour but I just can’t think of anyone else.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

from psychogoddess.vodpod

  1. September 28, 2007 at 3:27 am

    Don´t think about Alicias great body and skin, look where your “meat” comes from:

  2. Mithi
    September 29, 2007 at 5:45 pm

    I find vegetarians really interesting people. I was off beef for three months because I saw how relatives prepared lechong baka (imaginin mo na lang po, baka yun at hindi baboy) at sobrang naawa talaga ako dun sa baka. Nung nag wear off na yung awa ko, (hehe) kumain na ko ulet.

    Pero alam mo given the chance and resources (I mean, kung alam ko lang san makakakuha ng vegi meals etc) feeling ko kaya ko eh. My mother disapproves though kase 100 lbs lang ako at 5’7”.

  3. September 29, 2007 at 6:20 pm

    waits: Thanks for the comment and the link. 🙂 But I have to be honest–the reason I actually considered being a vegetarian is VANITY. I know, it’s shallow. 🙂
    I have to admit that I’m really not that affected by “animal slaughter” considering that I used to watch pigs, goats and chickens killed and cooked in the province. As I said, I was raised by carnivores and I guess my upbringing made me immune to what most people would consider as cruelty to animals. I know this makes me sound a bit harsh or insensitive but that’s the way it is. Maybe I need to be educated more about these things so I can make a more informed decision.

  4. September 29, 2007 at 6:24 pm

    mithi: I don’t really eat beef that much (I’m more of a chicken/pork person). there’s something about the smell of stewing beef that just kills my appetite which is why I don’t really eat bulalo or nilaga. I can’t say no to a big juicy steak though…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

