Home > entertainment, personal, rants, television > Zaido vs. Lastikman

Zaido vs. Lastikman

Firstly, let’s get a few things straight:

– I watched Zaido because (1) I was a fan of Shaider as a kid and (2) Dennis Trillo stars in it.

– I work for a TV network (can you guess which one? *wink wink*)

– I’m not as familiar with Lastikman. Never heard of the character until Vic Sotto made a movie on the Mars Ravelo character. There was a time I thought Fantasticman and Lastikman were the same.

– I’m comparing the two shows simply because they’re both in primetime, they’re both “fantaseryes” and they debuted on the same day.

So here’s my review.

Production Design. Lastikman had better sets, hands-down. I loved the look of the aliens–the gray skins and the long white hair looked great. The interior of the spaceships in Zaido looked fake and Gallian’s planet was laughable (nahalatang tinipid ito).

Special Effects. For both shows, special effects weren’t good but they weren’t that bad either. They’re still a bit too cartoon-y for my taste. I think the animators would have done better if given more time. There’s this one particular scene in Lastikman which I hated though: at first, the baby (who I’m assuming is the lead character considering that Vhong Navarro was nowhere to be seen) looked liked a disgusting pile of green goo (mukhang sipon). The weird thing was when it started to move, the goo became all shiny and animated. Where’s the consistency?

As for Zaido, my main irk is Ley-Ar who looks like a cross between a tyanak and that “Chaka Doll” character from a defunct GMA7 horror show. And his head shrunk…I remember his head being as big as Ida in the original Shaider series.

Acting. Both shows casted top-caliber actors and I expected satisfactory performances from these veterans at the very least. But it is Marky Cielo, who plays Alexis in Zaido, who surprised me with his acting skills. Considering that he is a newbie in the industry, he gave quite a performance. Five stars for Marky–this guy knows how to act. Post-worthy:Paolo Ballesteros looks great as Ida (honestly! He looks so pretty it’s shocking).

Story. Lastikman is a typical melodrama in disguise. Aside from the fact that it follows the usual narrative structure (does the story really have to start with the main character as a BABY?), the star-crossed lovers angle is so passe. I mean, the kid gets separated from both his parents (whose union is thwarted by the alien society his father belongs to) and would probably be raised by someone poor who would either (a) take care of him or (b) treat him like shit and the boy would grow up and would eventually be reunited with one or both of his parents and they would live happily ever after.

Zaido doesn’t pretend to be anything else but a spin-off of Shaider. Although I think Gallian’s (Dennis Trillo) character is a little underdeveloped, I am hooked on the Alexis angle. No missing babies, no switching parents, no adoptions. It’s still dramatic considering the family conflict but I think it’s quite different from the usual TV storyline. The fact that the pilot didn’t start with the main characters still in diapers also helped. Honestly, one doesn’t really need to start at the very beginning to tell an effective story.

I stopped watching Lastikman after it’s second episode and opted to follow Zaido instead. I think Zaido offered a better alternative for those of us who don’t really like soap operas that much. Lastikman lost me with the baby and the star-crossed lovers bit. I just don’t like obvious stories–even when the characters have gray skin and white hair.

EDIT (10/20/2007): Grabe…I was able to watch a couple of Zaido episodes last week and all I can say is…WTF?!? Instead of focusing on the original plot (good vs. evil/ Zaido kicking alien monsters’ ass) the people behind the show settled to give us chessy “loveteam” angles. DOUBLE YECH! Aside from the fact that Aljur Abrenica’s expression is the same throughout (whether he’s happy, angry, sad, pa-cute!) the Bernal girl is simply annoying. What happened to the action sequences?
The first week of the show was SO PROMISING but it sunk WAY down after only a few weeks.Β  After raising my expectations over the promising plotΒ , the show gives me this: a series of revolting pa-cute scenes with two young actor-wannabes.Β  I’m revising my post: I’m not gonna watch either shows anymore (unless forced to). Sorry, but not even Dennis Trillo can persuade me to tune in again–the teeny bopper storylines are just plain nauseating.

  1. clare
    October 5, 2007 at 12:04 pm

    i have not seen a single episode of Lastikman and i have no plan of watching it — mas eye candy ang nasa Zaido e. lol.

    but then again, i have to admit, everytime i watch zaido i fall asleep halfway. i love dennis trillo but for some reason pinapatulog nila ako. wala pa kasi masyadong actiong sequences siguro.

  2. raki
    October 5, 2007 at 2:51 pm

    .._yuck!!!.,i dont lyk zaido..
    LASTIKMAN is the best!!

  3. October 5, 2007 at 9:07 pm

    clare: I haven’t been able to watch an episode after the first week. ratings have been good though… Zaido averages at around 33 while Lastikman’s at around 27 (AGB Nielsen).

    raki: to each his own I guess…sana lang mas inexplain mo kung bakit mas gusto mo Lastikman. Baka may nakita kang maganda sa palabas na ito na hindi ko napansin. πŸ™‚

  4. rue
    October 6, 2007 at 2:02 pm

    hi…. i like lastikman, mas astig sya sa Zaido… nyee… effects pala sa lastikman, cool kaayo… Zaido… hala!… ano ba yon?… yang rating-rating na yan, i dont beleive, kasi sino ba ang tinatanong nila? ang kakilala rin nila… Grabe… Ang mga corny at hindi marunong tumingin o kumilatis what is the real show and nice show, ahhh… syempre doon sila sa Zaido…

    Basta Lastikman… ROCKS………

  5. October 7, 2007 at 6:03 pm

    rue: the best thing about living in a democracy is that we all have the freedom to choose. Calling those of us who like a different show than you “corny” or “hindi marunong tumingin o kumilatis what is the real show and nice show” is unfair. I don’t force my opinions on anyone and I suggest you do the same. πŸ™‚
    As for the special effects, I work in post production so I think I’d know good special effects when I see it. If you read my entire post, you’d know I didn’t give stars to the special effects of EITHER show but I gave my thumbs up to Lastikman for the set design.
    As for the ratings by AGB Nielsen, try to research on television ratings first before commenting about its validity. Let’s all try to be more responsible in posting our opinions over the internet. πŸ™‚

  6. October 7, 2007 at 9:58 pm

    Nire-review ko ang Shaider ngayon. May DVDs na ako, hehe.

  7. October 8, 2007 at 4:55 am

    ederic: ayus ka talaga…mas addict ka kesa sa akin! πŸ™‚

  8. DudeRed
    October 9, 2007 at 6:32 pm

    I prefer Zaido because I’m a Shaider fan saka yun Lastikman e very typical ang kwento. Pero the way I look at it, mas entertaining panoorin ang Lastikman, kase pasok siya sa kultura ng Pinoy, yun story niya e paso na nga, classic soap opera pero wala tayo magagawa, primetime e, mass appeal ang habol nila. Sa Zaido naman e nadisappoint ako dahil parang soap opera na ang format, I was expecting na kaya na ng Pinoy gumawa ng production na ala-Shaider, yun sa isang episode e may problema then after ng episode e masosolve yun problema. Bale ang nangyari sa Zaido e parang the usual GMA 7 teleserye, madrama at draggy, mahaba ang kwento at karaniwan sa umpisa lang maganda. To sum it all up, mas gusto ko ang Zaido pero feeling ko e mas maganda ang pagkakagawa ng Lastikman. That’s all, peace po! πŸ™‚

  9. October 10, 2007 at 7:30 am

    DudeRed: thanks for the comment! πŸ™‚ The review I made was on the first week of both shows and I have to admit that I haven’t watched another episode of either show after that.
    I guess para sa akin, mas maganda nga ang naging simula ng Zaido but most probably, hindi na naman na-maintain. If what you said is true, na naging sappy na rin ang kwento nya, then I’d probably watch it just for the eye candy. πŸ™‚ As I said in my post, I’m not really a fan of soaps. I guess it was wishful thinking on my part to assume that Philippine TV finally has variety.
    Quality-wise, I already said that Lastikman has better production value but that doesn’t necessarily mean that it has better special effects. Sobrang kulang pa ang parehas na show…Kumbaga sa exam, needs improvement pa.

  10. October 10, 2007 at 8:17 am

    hi there!

    bakit kasi ang ratings is based only in manila, paki check naman sa visayas and mindanao, para makita nyo kong ano talaga number 1, lastikman has quality . di naman bagay kay dennis mag action pang drama lang sya. sana naman wag kayo magalit. maganda ang story nang lastikman specially sa mga parents, kasi ma feel mo talaga yong sakit na nararamdaman nang bata.alam ko yon kasi may anak ako at minsan tayong naging bata.

  11. October 10, 2007 at 12:42 pm

    chingkkay: TV ratings aren’t based in manila alone but in MEGAMANILA. Megamanila is the term used for regions of Central Luzon, CALABARZON (Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, Rizal, Quezon) MIMAROPA (Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Marinduque, Romblon, Palawan) and Metro Manila. πŸ™‚

    As I said, to each his own. If you prefer Lastikman to Zaido, then go ahead and watch the show to your heart’s content. πŸ™‚ As I said in my post, melodramas aren’t really my type of stories. Kanya-kanyang taste lang talaga yan.

  12. grippingtide
    October 16, 2007 at 7:04 pm

    I expect sana for GMA to improve Zaido. Nakakahiya kung hindi pa nila ayusin. Kahit pa pumapalo ng 100% ang ratings nya kung pinagtatawanan naman ng mga foreigners lalo ng mga Japanese (remember, may Pinoy Tv ang GMA 7 dun) ang show. I thought Philippine TV is aiming for worldclass quality programming. World class quality kung ayaw naman makinig ng management sa mga tinuturong flaws ng show? Hindi ba nila iniisip na kaya maraming nagrereklamo dahil marami pa rin ang nagmamahal sa Shaider? Bakit ayaw nilang tanggapin ang criticism at gamitin yun para i-improve ang show? Malapit na ang Araw ng mga Patay, bilang pag-galang kay Mr. Hiroshi Tsuburaya (ang actor sa original Shaider series), sana huwag balat-sibuyas ang GMA management sa criticism galing sa mga TUNAY na nagmamahal at nagpapahalaga sa Shaider.

  13. October 20, 2007 at 7:42 pm

    grippingtide: I sincerely hope that our criticisms reach their ears. As one of the original fans of Shaider, I was prepared to cut the local version some slack–I was expecting it to be “Filipinized”–but what they did is pure sacrilege.

  14. grippingtide
    October 20, 2007 at 8:36 pm

    psychogoddess,
    Oh, I have a feeling that I’m under the watchlist since my bro and I did something to their page in Wiki some time ago. A blogger by the name of Mike Abundo (I think he’s a hotshot or something provided that he uses his real name with matching pic) managed to save a copy of it.
    Here’s the link:

    http://mikeabundo.com/2007/10/15/the-truth-about-zaido-on-wikipedia/

  15. October 21, 2007 at 10:48 am

    grippingtide:
    Thanks for the link! That really cracked me up. πŸ™‚
    Here’s the truth about it: even when the show sucks, it’s still doing well in ratings and networks usually regard ratings as the ABSOLUTE truth in audience preference. They wouldn’t really listen to our comments and criticisms if they can easily throw back at us that the show is “doing well”.
    My theory is that the network assumed that Zaido needed the usual melodramatic/ loveteam “chuvaness” (for lack of a better term) usually found in primetime TV. I’m crossing my fingers that the writers would give in to the harsh criticisms that’s been circulating on the net. Major overhaul.

  16. Gripping Tide
    October 21, 2007 at 4:51 pm

    psychogoddess:
    Of course it’s gonna do well in the ratings! I know that with the poor economy we have, a lot of Pinoys are willing to watch a crappy show–in exchange of extra money. Unless our country is turning into a nation of morons and idiots, people will exercise their God-given intellect and stop the show from insulting them just because majority of us are class C and below.
    No matter what sort of revamp the show will perform, they will never deny the damage they’ve done and they can never undo the crap their writers imbued in the story. There’s no other way but to end it. But don’t worry if your fave actor/actress is one of them because I’m sure, they’ll be circulated to other projects and shows.

  17. Lastikman
    October 30, 2007 at 1:33 pm

    Ewan ko talaga sa ZAIDO na yan huh??… sobrang baduy.. mag za-ZAIDO lng kailangan pang sumayaw -sayaw at mag-ta-tumbling tumbling.. Yung mga ratings na yan napaka-alang kwenta.. daanin na lng natin sa critical reception ang zaido at lastikman panigurado ako panalo pa ang lastikman.. sana makagawa ang mga networks natin dito ng respectable series katulad ng HEROES or Prison Break… Yung tipong mapapanood ang maga Bata , teenager, young adult pati matatanda.

  18. tristan
    December 7, 2007 at 1:55 am

    okey naman parehong shows, (Lastikman at Zaido) yun nga lang pareho din silang kulang, i expected more from GMA kasi ang alam ko kailangan ng approval ng Toei ang lahat ng effects at episodes ng Zaido, pero bat parang nagiging baduy? pagping compare mo ang Shaider at Zaido mas okey pa rin ang Shaider to think its was done decades ago pero hindi tayo maka measure up sa Japan, Lastikman naman ay swerte kasi wala silang kailangan pantayan na benchmark, kasi ABS-CBN did the last one starring Mark Butista, which im sorry to say hindi ko pinanood kasi alam kong makakababa ng panlasa ko as a critic. going back to GMA, sana naman wag nyo ipahiya ang mga Pilipino sa mga Japanesse producers.

  19. alvin
    December 29, 2007 at 5:31 am

    para saming mga shaider kids during the late 80’s basurang maituturing ang zaido, kelan pa naging kuma ang mga FUMA, ang babilos naging avilo, dr. ang po d dr. eng (ung may pet shop), meron pang memory eraser, planetang nalax daw (huh)at si shaider nagliligtas ng mga bata katulong si annie. d soap opera na may iyakan at love scene ang mga space sheriff. isa pa nag costume d ko mawari kung robocop o star trek. sa mga nakakatanda 3 silang space sheriff, gavan, sherivan at si shaider. kung sanang d naipalabas dito ang shaider pwede pa cguro nilang maloko ang nanood pero hindi kahit na d na kami bata eh tanda parin namin ang ganda at lesson na naibigay ni shaider!

  20. mia
    February 3, 2008 at 10:41 am

    mas gusto ko ang zaido coz ang lastikman ginaya lang sa gma7 dating role yun ni vic sotto kaya kung tutuusin mas maganda ang zaido kasi di ito ginaya hinaluan lang ito ng pagka power rangers para mas maging maganda ang kalalabasan hay nku para walang away zaido nalang ang panuorin nyo kasi cornie ang lastikman sa abs-cbn

    ano? magpapasawa lang ba kayo manuod ng corning palabas? magzaido nlang
    kayo

    codename zaido blue!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

