Home > personal, philippines, rants > On Taxes

On Taxes

“Mabuhay ang bansang Pilipinas! Sana lalo pang lumaki ang tyan ni FG Mike Arroyo! Ang laki ng TAX ko!!! Pu***a!”

This was the text message I sent to my friends after getting my post-promotion payslip for the first time yesterday.  I avoid looking at the right side of my payslip as a rule but yesterday was an exemption. I almost fell off my chair.

The middle class can’t escape paying taxes. Nauuna pang makuha ng gobyerno ang parte nila bago pa man natin masilayan yung perang pinaghirapan natin sa loob ng isang kinsenas. I know that as a citizen, it’s my duty to pay taxes but knowing that there a LOT of people out there who are NOT paying their taxes at all irritates the hell out of me.

I can’t do anything about the situation of the millions of poor Filipinos in the country. Yes, there is an immense gap between the haves and have-nots and I resigned myself to the fact that a part of my salary will always be given to the government for the “betterment” of the poor. But I can’t give excuses to those people who are able to hire accountants capable of complex shenanigans to make them pay less than what they have to.

I always say this to my friends: I don’t mind paying taxes AS LONG AS I SEE MY TAXES WORKING FOR ME. To be more specific, I won’t mind paying taxes if:

1) All the roads I pass to and from work are properly paved with concrete.

2) I don’t have to breathe in the pollution of the entire metro manila before finally getting a ride in an already crowded jeepney.

3) I don’t have to squeeze into the already jam-packed MRT during rush hour.

4) I don’t have to wait for at least four hours to get any kind of service from a government agency.

5) I can enroll my future children to a public school knowing that they’ll be having classes in classrooms and won’t have to share books with three other children.

6) I can go to a public hospital knowing that I will be given excellent care.

7) I am confident that ALL my government officials are making sure that MY money is properly used.

Wish ko lang. 😦

Make no mistake. The government is spending OUR money. I demand a return of investment!

  1. clare
    October 13, 2007 at 4:52 pm

    hay…i agree with you. whenever i look at my paycheck and see how much goes to taxes parang gusto kong mahimatay.

  2. October 18, 2007 at 2:30 pm

    8) that when i go to a government agency or bureau, such as when i’m renewing my license, i get the service i deserve, being part of the group of society that is the MAJOR CONTRIBUTOR to the salaries of the functionaries of that agency.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

