Home > entertainment, personal, Uncategorized > Falling in love with Sweeney

Falling in love with Sweeney

I was finally able to watch Tim Burton’s Sweeney Todd last Friday with a friend. Needless to say, Burton did not disappoint. I am so in love with this film!

I expected to like it since (1) I’m a major Tim Burton fan, (2) I love musicals, (3) and I think Johnny Depp is one of the most talented actors out there. I just didn’t expect to like it this much.  Of course, the set design and the lighting were excellent and the cast gave a great performance. The twist was how Burton made this musical so suspenseful that I was literally hanging on to my seat.  A scene in particular comes to mind: the one where Johnny Depp was giving Alan Rickman’s character a shave and not knowing whether or not Sweeney Todd was finally going to get his revenge. I got goosebumps!

I don’t really want to give anything else away especially for those who haven’t seen the film yet.  Let me just close by saying that I will definitely watch this again and I’m eagerly awaiting the DVD release.  For now, I’ll settle with putting the soundtrack on my ipod. 🙂  Tim Burton is a genius and Sweeney Todd just became one of my favorite movies (second to Ed Wood).  I look forward to their next collaborative work together–these two talented men have the best chemistry. 

  1. January 28, 2008 at 4:45 am

    I think I have to give a chance to this film… even if I hate films plenty of blood & don’t know if I could appreciate again musicals (I only remember Mary Poppins years ago so…)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

