Home > personal, UP > Motivation

Motivation

I am six units and a paper away from taking my comprehensive exam. If I pass the exam, then I can finally work on my thesis. [Unlike other schools, UP CMC’s Media Studies curriculum demands that its students take a qualifying exam PLUS submit a thesis. No plan A or plan B options.]

I’ve been studying for my master’s degree for five years now. [Technically, it’s more like three years and a half since I had to stop school for three semesters.] There were times last semester that I was so ready to quit; aside from the added stress at work, I felt that I didn’t need to finish anymore. I was doing well at work and I’ve also been offered opportunities to teach in a couple of colleges. I had to remind myself of the reasons why I’m doing this. I keep telling myself that it will be worth it. IT MUST BE WORTH IT.

My friends are simply wonderful about the whole thing. I never heard any of them question my decision to study. Instead, they argue with me whenever I tell them I was thinking of quitting school. “Sayang naman,” they would say, “think of all the money and the time you spent. Konti na lang yan.”

I’ve also been blessed with a wonderful partner who motivated me in his own way. He would treat me to a fancy date or buy me a gift whenever I get good grades. His best gift so far was an iPod Touch after I survived a particularly harrowing semester. “Babawiin ko yan kapag tumigil ka,” he’d say. He would scold me whenever I feel lazy and would not complain whenever I had to cancel a date because of schoolwork.

But perhaps the best motivation of all is the one waiting for me as soon as I graduate; the promise of a wedding as soon as I get my degree. We set the date to coincide with the year of my graduation. It adds a lot of pressure–hindi na pwedeng papetiks-petiks. I now have renewed energy for the semester ahead. I just need to focus…

Six units left plus that one paper I was unable to finish for my Media Research class last semester. Then the comprehensive exam, then a thesis. Then, a wedding ring. 🙂

Categories: personal, UP Tags: , , , ,
  1. clare
    June 1, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    gandang motivation nyan…. 😉

  2. June 3, 2008 at 11:10 pm

    true true! I feel like I drank a whole carton of lipovitan. 🙂 I just enrolled kanina. Last SIX UNITS! (all fingers crossed!)

  3. clare
    June 4, 2008 at 7:50 am

    enrolled already? good for you! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

