Home > entertainment, movies, personal, rants > Indy, a prince with an accent and a kick-ass Panda

Indy, a prince with an accent and a kick-ass Panda

I already voiced out my excitement over the new Indy flick so when I suddenly found myself with free time on my hands, I immediately went to the cinema and got myself a ticket. I wanted to love it. I mean, I waited years for another Indy flick.

I was disappointed. In a nutshell, I thought Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull was not a bad film but it wasn’t good either. I felt that the script was lousy and the Indiana Jones character I loved was missing in the film-Harrison Ford looked out of place; his dialogue cliche and forced. The only scene where I felt connected to the old Indy was the one with the huge snake–just a short glimpse and it left me wanting more. Talents like Cate Blanchett and Ray Winstone seemed wasted on the film. Shia LaBeouf gave a credible performance (I am now a fan of this guy after seeing him “survive” in this movie) minus the Tarzan-vine-swinging scene (which was just so BAD!). The graphics were inconsistent: some were really great while others were just terrible. And the aliens plot line? Puh-leeese! As a long-time fan, I felt betrayed. Granted The Last Crusade was a tough one to beat but I know they could have done better–starting with a better script.

I watched Prince Caspian on my own, surrounded by parents and their kids. It was a conscious decision to watch this rather than suffer through the roughly censored Sex and The City (will just wait for the DVD release). I loved the Narnia books and I thought the Disney adaptation of The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe wasn’t bad. Good points first: the story was well adapted. I mean, the film was easier to understand than the book. The film was chronological while the book had scattered back stories all throughout. Most of the visual effects were stunning; especially the river scene. The kids looked believable with their weapons; their sword fighting skills improved a lot since the last film. And Ben Barnes as Prince Caspian looked hot. 🙂 Bad points: Ben Barnes as Prince Caspian just looked good. He’s just so…bland. And his accent started to annoy me as I got into the second hour of the film. The characters, except perhaps for Peter and the dwarf Trumpkin, were almost too two-dimesional. They were just plain good or evil. I found it hard to empathize with most of them. The saccharine goody-goody theme of most Disney films also got to me.

Just when I was about to give up hope on this summer’s Hollywood releases, I went with my boyfriend to watch Kungfu Panda a couple of days ago. It was money well spent. I laughed from start to finish. Yes, there were a lot of cliche, done-before stuff in the film but these were executed well. Dustin Hoffman as the kungfu master was just great (I kept remembering his capoeira scene from Meet the Fockers) and Jack Black never fails to crack me up. The story was great and the animation was superb; I especially loved the dream sequence. It was quite reminiscent of the Samurai Jack cartoon series in Cartoon Network. For everyone who just wants to relax and have fun, this is the best movie to go see.

Looking forward to The Incredible Hulk, The Dark Knight and Hancock. While waiting, I’ll go see the Katorse Shorts at Robinson’s Galleria–perfect for a break from Hollywood fare. 🙂

  1. emperorbananaketchup
    June 13, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    I should count myself lucky for skipping Prince Caspian, though…

    You should go check The Incredible Hulk…looks like Marvel’s gonna have another winner in its hands

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

