Home > entertainment, news, personal, rants, television > Pinoy Idol Rants Part 2

Pinoy Idol Rants Part 2

I was extremely frustrated and disappointed that Mae Flores got booted out last Sunday.  The ratings of the show improved, which means that a lot more people are actually tuning in to Pinoy Idol. Last June 27, the Gala Performance night garnered a 30.1% rating. Elimination night got a 25%. It was also among the top three primetime shows that weekend These are based on overnight ratings conducted by AGB Nielsen on Mega Manila households. (Source article here.)

Okay…this somehow proves that people actually watch the show but it doesn’t really prove how many people are actually voting since Pinoy Idol never disclose the figures. I am pissed enough to assume that the only people voting for their favorites are the contestants’ family, friends and barangay.

I didn’t really want to rant about this show again…I mean, how much internet space am I willing to shell out for this? But since I really got pissed, here’s a follow-up to my previous ranting on the fiasco that is Pinoy Idol:

1) Granted, Raymond is less “stiff” since they moved to the bigger stage. I also appreciate his ad libs; it’s obvious that he is listening to what’s happening around him. Weirdly, I never see him beside a contestant anymore. He has his own special spot on stage. I guess production realized that this scenario would look better than the forced rapport audience had to endure whenever Raymond approached the contestants.

2) What’s with the fast cuts right after Raymond’s opening spiel in both the Gala and the Elimination nights? Is that supposed to be exciting? It doesn’t work. It’s jarring and it makes my head ache.

3) Someone should realize that they have bad lighting. Really bad. There was a point during the first gala performance that I could barely see the contestants’ faces. The lights were just too darn bright.

4) Same comment as before…the band plays rock songs as if they’re playing show tunes.

5) To Wyngard…it’s obvious that you’re disappointed with the remaining contestants but I have a bone to pick with you…weren’t you part of the group who chose the Top 24?

6) Why is SUE, TOFFER and DARYL still there? The others, although not spectacular, have talent. These three just confuse me. Honestly, why are you there? Why are you even part of the Top24? WHY?!?

7) What’s with the themes? Last week they chose songs they wanted to dedicate to someone. Ano yun? I haven’t seen most of the contestants’ versatility. Why persist in boxing them in their own personal styles?

If Sue, Toffer and Daryl are still there by next week, I’m giving up on this show. I’m sorry to say this but the network really didn’t do the franchise justice. I really didn’t want to bash it…I had high hopes…but what they did to the franchise just kills me. It’s just so bad. 😦

  1. clare
    July 2, 2008 at 6:58 am

    i gave up on watching this a long time ago…

  2. jpk
    July 2, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    if you dont want to see deserving singers to be eliminated and not giving up pinoy idol, vote for the best performer.

  3. jpk
    July 2, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    giving up on pinoy idol is non-filipino habbit

  4. July 2, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    @jpk: I don’t think not supporting the show is a “non-Filipino habit”. It’s preference–more people will choose not to watch crap. The show needs the criticisms so it can hopefully improve.

  1. July 6, 2008 at 11:11 pm

Leave a Reply

