Home > personal, wedding > Wedding Expo Bliss

Wedding Expo Bliss

My fiancé and I finally decided on a date: April 17, 2010.

I get mixed reactions about planning things this early since our wedding is about two years from now but considering our circumstances and the many hurdles in our future plans, we thought it prudent to set a fixed date rather than just leave it to chance. Being the compulsive planner that I am, I excitedly undertook the task of preparing the budget for the big day. I want to be a hands-on bride; I want to book and arrange everything myself. I’d probably just get a day-coordinator so I won’t be harrassed on my wedding day.

I went to my first wedding expo at the PICC today. I wanted to go to this particular expo since it was the biggest this year and would feature a ton of suppliers. My fiancé and I didn’t really plan to book anyone yet but merely wanted to “window shop.”

I was totally floored. I never realized that weddings can be such a lucrative business.

Everything and everyone I needed to plan my wedding were there. Venues, caterers, event stylists, coordinators, photographers, videographers, hair and make up artists, couturiers and even entertainers all had their booths set up. I also met suppliers for invitations, wedding cakes, souvenirs, flower arrangements, bridal cars and wedding rings! Needless to say, we had a thick bunch of brochures when we left.

We pretty much now have an idea about how much these suppliers charge. I can now compute for a realistic budget for my wedding day. I can be really stingy and I’m not really into the idea of spending loads of money on a one-day affair. But I’m also vain enough to want my wedding day to be just perfect for me and my groom.

I found out the price of my dream venue today—-let me just say that dream venue is now out of the list. It’s just too expensive. (I’m not posting what it is here since I don’t really want comments that might try to convince me otherwise or would just gush at how beautiful the place really is). Fortunately, we found another reception venue at the expo that we like and coincidentally, the venue also has a beautiful church nearby just in case we decide on a Catholic ceremony (I’m not Catholic but fiancé’s family is). I’ll post more about it when we book them early next year. 🙂

As for the other things, I’ve only just finished sorting through the big pile of brochures. They’re now organized according to service/product in a big envelope for easier access.

I need to get back to the present for now. I still have papers due for school and pending workload at the office. Must focus. More concrete wedding plans can wait for a few more months.

Categories: personal, wedding Tags: , , ,
  1. September 8, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    Masaya ang mga kasalan. 🙂

    May ire-recommend akong wedding fotogs. 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

