Home > food, personal, rants, wedding > First Food Tasting – Hizon’s

First Food Tasting – Hizon’s

My heart was set on getting Hizon’s as the caterer for our wedding so when I got an invitation for their food tasting event at the Gazebo Royale, I persuaded my fiancé to go with me. Things didn’t turn out exactly as I’d hoped but I’m crossing my fingers that things will turn out well in the end.

But let me start at the beginning.

My fiancé and I arrived at Gazebo Royale a little after 4pm. The place was buzzing with activity. Stacey, our AE, wasn’t able to attend to us immediately (which was ok) but Mac was a little irked about the service. Busy or not, we were prospective clients and we were a little turned off that we had to wait for quite a while before getting served. While waiting for our plates, I decided to get a small serving of roast beef with gravy (which was yummy!) but we couldn’t find a fork anywhere. We tried to get the attention of some of the waiters but without success. Mac was getting pissed at this time.

Finally, Stacey came around to our table, apologized and made sure that our plates were served (with utensils). Mac was dismayed to find that the spoon given to him wasn’t too clean. He didn’t bother asking for another one but instead ate with his fork na lang. We were both a little disappointed with the food. Considering the good reviews I heard about Hizon’s, I was really surprised. I only liked two of the dishes served (Mac liked one) but there was no “wow” factor.

Finally, Stacey sat down with us and presented their promo package. Mac was already decided on dropping Hizon’s but I talked him into at least listening to the offer. I finally told Stacey that we didn’t like the food and mentioned the lack of service plus the dirty spoon. I was actually preparing my “thanks, but no thanks” speech in my head when Stacey started apologizing profusely and offered an exlusive food tasting for us to make up for today’s fiasco. This is on top of the attractive package they were offering that day.

Mac wasn’t entirely sold on the idea but he agreed to give Hizon’s a second chance. I think the food didn’t taste so well since we arrived late (the food tasting started at 10am). There was no excuse for the poor service though, but since it seemed they were willing to make up for it, there’s no harm in giving them another try.

We are yet to set the schedule for the food tasting at Hizon’s and I persuaded my fiancé to go with an open mind. We’ll be bringing my parents and his brother as back up. I just hope the next time will be better than what happened today.

PS (09/21/2008): Mac and I confirmed our next food tasting at Hizon’s on the 27th at their QC office. Hope things will turn out better this time around.

  1. September 15, 2008 at 12:00 am

    Supposed to be food tasting pa lang dapat masarap na and good na service kahit grand food tasting pa yan and not the scheduled one… Try other caterers. Good luck. 🙂

  2. clare
    September 15, 2008 at 9:13 am

    parang nakakadisappoint naman yan…hopefully the second try will be better pero i can understand why your fiance would be hesitant to go through it all over again…

  3. storybookwedding
    September 15, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    Hi Hazel!

    We went to that food tasting too! 🙂 But we were there around lunch time. I was with my fiance’s parents and little sister, and my Mom.

    I’ve always known Hizon’s to be a little inconsistent in terms of food and service. Our main agenda was actually to check out Gazebo Royale, which was actually nicer than I thought.

    Anyway, I agree with Tani. I think you should try other caterers. 🙂


    Anj
    http://storybookwedding.wordpress.com

  4. September 15, 2008 at 11:21 pm

    Hi Hazel,

    I sincerely apologize for what happened in the Grand Food Tasting Yesterday. We were unprepared for the number of people that attended, we did our best to keep tabs on the guest list but unfortunately more people turned out then we expected, our service people did their best given the situation. I understand that we didn’t show you an ideal first impression and I appreciate the fact that you still accepted our invitation for a second chance. Hope to meet you in person when you drop by the office for the 2nd food tasting. I would be delighted to personally attend to you and your finance. If theres anything I can help you with please you can email me at josephhizon@yahoo.com, 09178312602

    Thanks,
    Joseph Hizon
    General Manager – Hizon’s Catering

  5. September 15, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    @Tani: thanks sis! I just felt so sad that our first food tasting was so disappointing. We really expected a lot more specially after hearing all the raves about Hizon’s.

    @Clare:I’m easier to please than Mac. Mas pihikan yun at mas maraming napapansin. Sana nga the second try will be better.

    @anj: thanks dear! Mac actually liked Gazebo Royale too. Option na sya as venue. 🙂 he’s also been asking around about other caterers. It’s funny coz usually mas hands on ang bride sa preps pero in our case, he seems as excited as I am.

  6. September 15, 2008 at 11:55 pm

    @Joseph Hizon: thanks so much for actually taking the time to drop a comment. My fiancé and I really appreciate the gesture. 🙂 we will be scheduling our next food tasting as soon as Mac’s schedule permits it. Thank you! 🙂

  7. missy
    November 13, 2008 at 10:09 am

    Like many others, I was actaully expecting a lot from that food tasting.

    The “PESTO” was a little “peste”….and the rest was “ok”…….you’re right girl…no “wow” factor.

    You’ve been in this business for many years…so…no excuses…DEAL WITH IT!

  8. annahbanana
    November 21, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    Gazebo Royalle!!!!! Wow super mang harrass ng clients specially if you have already paid the deposit of 50 percent, I had a bad experience with Gazebo Royalle , I booked a big Celebration for our Company last September 10 which we will have 500 people attendees, and they come up to 700 per head computation of Php140,000.00 just for the VENUE rental so, we agreed on the 50 percent deposit with E-vat of course, so we paid 77,000.00 in advance four months before the celebration ,no contract has been issued, no calls from Gazebo Royalle, so I thought that everything is fine apparently, 30 days before the final day which is on December 18.2008, they asked us to pay the full amount and 20,000.00 pesos deposit additional to the full amount, I was in a hurry to went back to Manila because my Secretary told me that Gazebo is forcing her to go the their office and sign the waiver or pay Otherwise, they will make the booking open to another gathering, which definitely so easy for them because of the Christmas season. i HAVE NOT tried having or attending a Celebration in Gazebo Royalle so I cannot judge why is that They are so YABANG and Greedy! I hope that If this will happen to you, please dont loose your temper because they can easily take you out of their Gazebo Garden bookings. The Gazebo is Ga sebo sobrang Mantika na ang bibig nyo!!!, I hope that the BIR will call your attention. KARMA IS COMING YOUR WAY, WALA PA BANG CANCER SI GA-SEBO?????

  1. September 29, 2008 at 2:14 pm

Leave a Reply

