Home > entertainment, movies, personal > Falling In Love with a Fair Lady

Falling In Love with a Fair Lady

I’ve heard of the film “My Fair Lady” since I was a kid but I never had the chance to watch it. I was reminded of the film once more while watching the most recent Gossip Girl episode (the first scene was a “homage” to the film). I finally got hold of a copy and watched it for the first time tonight.

I’ve always been a fan of Audrey Hepburn. I adored her in Breakfast at Tiffany’s but Audrey as Eliza Doolittle was just so endearing. She’s so charming that it’s impossible not to love her. Professor Higgins had no chance!

And the clothes…I just love the clothes! I wish I was as thin as a waif so I could look as good in Audrey’s clothes. My personal favorite was the dress she wore at the ball:

Eliza's dress for the ball

Here’s a closer look at the details of the dress:

One of my favorite scenes was when the professor brought Eliza to the horse races.  The women were adorned in black and white couture with the men in gray tuxedos.  The scene was picturesque and elegant…just perfect. I love it!

*Sigh*

Just lovely. I kept going back to this scene over and over again. I just couldn’t get enough of it.

The film had a simple love story but it was classic Hollywood all the way.  The ending wasn’t contrived nor was it forced. It was simple and to the point–we don’t make enough movies like that anymore.  The closest modern film I could think of that achieved the same level of romance and charm is the 2007 film, Once (highly-recommended; love the soundtrack as well).

My Fair Lady is one of those films that I could watch over and over again. It’s a great flick to watch with your girlfriends late at night with microwave popcorn and a bottle of wine.  This classic has it all–charming characters, a love story and great clothes. What else can a girl ask for?

  1. Den Relojo
    November 5, 2008 at 1:05 am

    I’ve seen this movie too! Nothing spectacular… Audrey Hepburn uglies up for the first third, and makes like a swan for the rest of the film. How did she get passed up for a Best Actress nomination for this film? Was it because her singing was dubbed? That didn’t stop the Academy from bestowing other nominations to actors like Peggy Wood who was dubbed in The Sound of Music. Was it the Julie Andrews controversy? It’s quite possible. But Hepburn delivers one of her best performances, her best in my opinion, in a career that was full of them. Her thin off-beat glamour and beauty were used to prime effect for the scenes where Eliza Doolittle has to look prim and proper, but still have a cockney mouth. And songs, oh how wonderful are the songs? “Wouldn’t It Be Loverly?,” “I Could Have Danced All Night,” “Without You,” “Show Me,” the list goes on and on. The three hour running time turns some people off, but have to say that I love all its Victorian glory!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

