Home > personal, rants, UP > I QUIT!

I QUIT!

It’s been quite a while since I blogged. Blame it on my favorite tv shows (new seasons of House, Heroes, Prison Break, Pushing Daisies, and Lipstick Jungle) and on the unbelievable workload I had since September. Now that things have slowed down a bit, I finally have the time to write.

I made a drastic life-altering decision last week. A decision which surprisingly wasn’t that diffiult to make.

I decided to quit school.

It’s a long story and rather than dwell in the circumstances, I’d rather look forward. No, it’s not because of my grades–I was doing well. It’s not because of finances or any personal dilemma. It was mainly out of frustration with the system which disrupted my future plans. I’m a neurotic planner and I react violently to anything that falls out of place. My studies “fell out of place” in such a way that I had to re-think my priorities and ask myself if it’s all worth it.

Apparently, it’s not. When I finally made my decision, I felt like a weight was lifted off my shoulders. I know I would have finished my masters if I wanted to, but I didn’t WANT to anymore. After all these years and all the sacrifices I’ve made, I just quit.

And it felt good. 🙂

I can’t say anything else without dissing my beloved university. UP and I parted ways not in the best of terms but I have no regrets. I learned a lot from my classmates and the experiences I’ve had in that masteral program. I may not have reached my ultimate goal (which sucks) but that in itself is a lesson– there comes a time when we have to weigh our priorities and learn to let go.

Categories: personal, rants, UP Tags: , ,
  1. clare
    November 19, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    whoa! nagulat ako sa news mo ha…but i agree, if the decision leaves you feeling good after, then you have made the right one.

    good luck on this new post-studies phase… 🙂

  2. Den Relojo
    November 19, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    I hope I won’t feel such with graduate school as I am very wishful to finish my Master’s… What’s a Master’s or a Ph. D degree anyway? The fact is, or seems so to me, that the number of seemingly bright people here in the Philippines is far greater than the good jobs available to them. But as for me, there is essentially one thing that keeps me in the graduate school right now—the fear of being (and being called) a quitter. But everyone has the liberty to go for whatever floats their own boat…

  3. November 20, 2008 at 6:28 pm

    @clare: thanks dear! 🙂

    @Den: sometimes, it takes more courage to quit on something rather than “force” it. There are a lot of factors behind my decision which I don’t really want to share in my blog.
    Good luck on your studies and I hope you won’t go through the same frustrating experiences I’ve had.

  4. Den Relojo
    November 20, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    Whenever someone is engaged in an activity which someone doesn’t want to do, he is just acting in opposition to himself. Part of his energy goes towards doing that activity, while the other part of that energy goes towards resisting that activity. Likewise, sometimes, I feel like my entire life is a battle of what that little voice in my head tells me I “should” do, versus what I want to do. Still, I believe, I have a long way to go…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

