Home > movies, personal, rants, travel > Ramblings (on death, vampires and coffee)

Ramblings (on death, vampires and coffee)

As the title of the post implies, these are random thoughts I just had to put on paper (or on cyberspace to be exact). No coherent sequencing of ideas took place–my version of guerilla blogging. 🙂

  • I liked Marky Cielo. Personally, I think he was the best among the Starstruck graduates–the kid can act and boy, can he dance! I found out about his death last Sunday at around 3pm through an sms from my mom. Of course, I was surprised. You just don’t expect someone so young to suddenly just die. Sayang. Sobrang sayang. He had so much potential. It’s so hard not to feel affected when someone so young dies. There were more than a few people I know who shed a tear or two for him. Dead and 20 years old should not be included in the same sentence.
  • I watched Twilight last Monday. Not worth the hype. I watched the movie with mixed expectations. Rotten Tomatoes gave the film a dismal rating and I got disjointed reviews from friends–some liked it while others thought it was trash. I guess I’m leaning towards the “I-think-it’s-trash” mindset. The acting was okay but the script was just so…crappy. The best lines in the film were those taken from the book. The establishment of Bella and Edward’s love story was too rushed…when Bella blurted out her realization that she’s in love with Edward, I was like, “Yun na yun?” I was so disappointed with the casting of Edward’s family especially with the actress who played Rosalie. I haven’t made up my mind about Carlisle yet. I mean, he does look like a GQ model but he lacks that “old soul” look. Production design was good and there was a kilig moment during the prom dance. But the direction was poor and the editing was a bit lousy. Maybe the next film from the Twilight saga will fare better with a different director.
  • Thanks to a friend, I was able to get that much needed break. I went to the coffee farmhouse in Tagaytay last weeked with friends from work. Loved the place, loved the food, loved the company, loved the coffee, loved everything! I’ll make a separate post about this when I get the pictures.
  1. December 11, 2008 at 11:44 am

    I’ve been reading along for a while now. I just wanted to drop you a comment to say keep up the good work.

  2. December 11, 2008 at 4:49 pm

    @Jeff: Thanks so much for the compliment and for dropping by to comment. 🙂

  3. 클라라
    December 15, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    i was a bit disappointed in twilight too, i expected more from it. 😦

    as for marky….*sigh*

    sayang talaga ang batang yun.

  1. December 11, 2008 at 9:02 pm
  2. December 12, 2008 at 11:07 am

Leave a Reply

