Home > personal, rants, wedding > Donations

Donations

My fiance and I originally decided on having a garden wedding ceremony but when we talked to his parents, his mom requested us to have the ceremony in a Catholic church so we can have our wedding blessed with a Mass. I’m not Catholic and my fiance hasn’t heard mass in years. To be honest, the type of ceremony doesn’t really matter to me as long as it’s simple and solemn, so I didn’t voice any protest. Having the wedding in a church is not a big deal…besides, I get to have that “closed door” dramatic effect for my entrance. 🙂

Imagine my surprise when I started researching on how we can get married in a church. I expected the paperwork and the seminars but what surprised me was the amount of money these churches ask for weddings. The prices ranged from 10 to 28 thousand pesos! I understand there are expenses incurred for electricity and flowers but doesn’t P28 THOUSAND PESOS seem too much for a venue that you’ll be using for less than two hours?

What I found more disturbing was that these churches claim that this compulsary amount is but a “donation”. Forgive me, but I always assumed that “donations” are voluntary. A donation is a gift, a contribution. If I can’t “donate” the necessary amount they’re asking for, I can’t get married in a church.  Why don’t they call it as it is? They’re rental fees, not donations. 

Oh. I suddenly remembered. The church is not an income-generating institution. If it was, the government would be taxing them. Right?

Add this to the list of things that I don’t like nor understand about the goings-on in the Catholic church. I’m not against paying for my wedding–heck, some venues charge as much as P120 thousand for just four hours. My only complaint is that they should stop hiding behind the guise of and protection of “donations”. Call it as it is. A compulsary amount for the use of a venue is not a donation. It’s RENT.

Categories: personal, rants, wedding Tags: ,
  1. January 3, 2009 at 6:44 pm

    Hello. A donation is a voluntary surrendering of funds. When it becomes a requirement it is no longer a donation.

    I pray that your wedding will go well and your marriage will be enduring. I just happpened to stumble across your blog on the wordpress topic index as your screen name intrigued me.

    timbob

  2. January 3, 2009 at 7:01 pm

    “A donation is a voluntary surrendering of funds. When it becomes a requirement it is no longer a donation.” –my point exactly. 😛

    Thanks for dropping by! 🙂

  3. January 3, 2009 at 7:18 pm

    Hay bakit kasi ganon diba.Ayoko na lang ding problemahin.

  4. 클라라
    January 9, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    i agree, donations naman are voluntary so they should call it what it is talaga. sobrang expensive nga nung 28,000 for the wedding proper…nakakaloka! which churches did you have in mind, bakit ganoon kamahal?

    pero i have to tell you, ang ganda ng “moment” ng entrance na may closed door effect, my cousin did that and it was so beautiful talaga… 🙂

  5. January 9, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    hi clare!
    Ayaw namin ng fiance ko na lilipat pa ng venue for the reception (hassle kasi!) so we’re looking for a church with a decent social hall in Makati or Pasig. Unfortunately, the only churches we found are Sanctuario de San Antonio and Christ the King (na parehas na 25K ang rate! ay…donation pala!). Sa SSA, may doors for the “grand entrance” ng bride pero sa CTK, wala kasi sliding doors lang ata.
    Ang gastos magpakasal I swear!

  6. akosigundam
    January 10, 2009 at 8:29 pm

    Those padres will milk you dry!!! To hell with all of them!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

