Home > entertainment, personal, philippines, rants, television > My List of The Top 10 Most Annoying People On Philippine Television

My List of The Top 10 Most Annoying People On Philippine Television

The last few weeks offered more than a few topics to blog about. To name a few, there’s that bigoted article by the now infamous Malu Fernandez, the Wowowee “scandal” and the Joey de Leon-Willie Revillame word war that ensued, and the death of UP Student Cris Mendez. I intentionally did not post anything about Fernandez simply because I don’t believe she deserves more internet space. I have voiced my anger and my frustration on the death of Mendez and would probably keep posting about it until something concrete about his case happens. I am sorely tempted to write about the Wowowee thing but really don’t want to jump on the bandwagon (let me just say this: I AM SO PRO-JOEY DE LEON!). 🙂

It is a conscious decision to write about something light albeit debatable topic. The following is actually inspired by this post. I decided to make my own list considering that I believe that there are those who are far more deserving to be on it. Let me just say that some of these people are talented and probably deserve to be on TV. But talented or not, there are just some things about these people that just rub me the wrong way.

TOP 10 MOST ANNOYING PEOPLE ON PHILIPPINE TV

Regine Velasquez10. Regine Velasquez. Ok fine, you’re in love. That’s a good thing I guess but please, let’s move on shall we? I am assuming that she took lessons for that fake American accent she likes to use; she reminds me of those trying-hard collegiala types who speak Taglish in musical tones. And someone should tell her to stop with those low-cut gowns. She looks like a plump pigeon.

9. Iwa Moto. Kung talagang paninindigan mo ang pagpapaseksi at ang pagsuot ng bikini on national television, please lose the pounds first. I know she probably won’t be able to do anything about the grating, high-pitched voice but please spare us the baby fat.

8. Jon Nite. He’ll be familiar to those who ever caught a glimpse of German Moreno’s late night Saturday show…I was told that this guy is a licensed doctor but he chose to be a host instead. I have to agree with Anton on this: “the worst English grammar ever”. He actually mispronounces some of his guests’ names.

7. MSP Teenstars. For those who don’t know them (I’m sure marami kayo!) this is a group of teens who usually have at least one production number in the same German Moreno show mentioned above. A word of advice: when dancing as a group, dapat sabay-sabay. Hindi dapat magkanya-kanya. At kung gustong maging sikat na artista, dapat huwag lang magpa-cute ng magpa-cute. (I tried to look for a group picture pero wala e. Does that imply anything?)

6. Pinoy Big Brother housemates turned actors. Hay naku… I already posted about the non-actress that is Wendy Valdez and the rest of her PBB housemates. They should have gone back to their lives after the reality show. Enough said.

5. Butch Francisco. Is that really his voice? Really?

4. Ruffa Gutierrez. Aside from entertaining us with the sordid details of her personal life, she and her friend Gretchen Barretto, barrage us with continuous “brand-dropping”: that the gown she wore for this event is Gucci and her shoes is from this designer… Whatever Ruffa. I wonder, are you and Malu Fernandez friends?

kris aquino3. Kris Aquino.Do I really need to explain? Her voice for one. And the way she treats the contestants who join her game shows. There’s this thing called TACT. You might have heard of it.

2. Cristy Fermin. Her lapses into really deep Filipino seems an effort to appear more intelligent than she really is. Her views are often (if not always) one-sided and her statements reeks of prejudice and bigotry. And she’s not even TV-friendly.

Willie Revillame1. Willie Revillame. I don’t get why this person is glorified on TV despite the number of scandals and controversies he has been involved in. How many times has his crying face been seen on television? I do not find him funny and I do not appreciate his constant pleas for sympathy. What’s more irritating is that his ploys actually work on some people–the Filipino audience is really “a weird bunch of folks”.

  1. September 4, 2007 at 12:37 am

    🙂 I’m actually tired of seeing the same faces on tv all the time. Its always Kris here, Regine there, Ruffa here, her brother Richard there, Willy here, Joey there…

    Its just sickening since they are the ones you see each day. I’m even sick of the commercials. Its all Sharon, Kris, Pacquiao etc.

    No wonder many pinoys like cable tv and youtube. At least in there, variety exists.

  2. kate
    September 4, 2007 at 6:47 pm

    I hate Regine’s obviously fake accent, Wendy and Willie’s crocodile tears, Cristy Fermin is ‘plastic’, and Ruffa is the woman who cried wolf. Yes I can endure them. Who I hate the most? That would have to be Kris. I had a chance to watch that morning show with Boy and oh boy she is so irritating! Does being intelligent include having to cut-off co-host and guests at midsentence? Grrrr!

    • crabby
      May 13, 2010 at 6:05 pm

      agreed.

  3. September 4, 2007 at 7:52 pm

    Nika: same here! and if seeing them all over TV is not enough, the same people are on enormous billboards along EDSA. Super-exposed na talaga mga mukha nila…

    Kate: I actually thought about putting Kris on top of my list but because of the recent drama with Willie, he takes the top spot. Just heard in the news that he actually apologized to Joey. Oh well…

  4. jamaica
    September 5, 2007 at 1:49 pm

    yup agree

  5. clare
    September 5, 2007 at 10:49 pm

    i agree with practically everything on your list — i just don’t know those people from #7. but i guess that’s a good thing. 😉

    and i’m pro-joey too! hahaha!

  6. September 5, 2007 at 10:58 pm

    clare: don’t worry. not knowing anything about them is REALLY a good thing. I guess I’m not as lucky. 🙂

  7. harvy
    September 6, 2007 at 3:34 pm

    i dont care to the people in the television, whAt I am more encourage to have this comment is the effect of the individuals who are viewing many of the controversies in television that is so tiring and there are no moral things that they are and should give to there viewers..

  8. Moymoy
    September 6, 2007 at 4:52 pm

    Why isn’t DJ Moe on the list? lols

  9. September 7, 2007 at 1:23 am

    Moymoy: I don’t find DJ Moe annoying enough to make my list. I haven’t been as exposed to him… 🙂

  10. AntiGurlNXX
    September 7, 2007 at 3:29 am

    Clare: have you heard about the Pepsi Paloma case Joey, Vic, and Richie was involved in?

  11. September 11, 2007 at 10:43 pm

    AntiGurlNXX: why mention the Pepsi Paloma case? What’s the relevance?

  12. reginemustdie
    September 20, 2007 at 7:42 pm

    regine should die! her fans should be buried with her. josemari chan should change facial expressions from time to time. parang nakaplaster yung ngiti sa mukha. janice is FAT. she occupies the whole TV screen. rez cortez should shut the hell up. he’ll never be a senator. somebody please stitch the mouth of love anover. this bitch is so annoying and loud! bwahahaha

  13. ako to
    September 29, 2007 at 10:54 am

    why didn’t you include judy ann santos in the list? as of now shes the most annoying personality in tv. her fraudelent advertisement on her fitrum.. gosh! such a horrible advs. can she just be honest on why she loose weight!!!

  14. November 15, 2007 at 7:35 pm

    I have to agree exponentially to your list. Especially the Willie thing. I really hate seeing him on tv. Everything about him – I hate! His not that funny…and i find him very offensive as a host(though I think the contestants will just ignore his slapping comments).

    But in my list, the top one would be Manny Pacquaio. I have hated him since he did his first commercial! And his singing career- UGH!

  15. candy
    November 28, 2007 at 12:41 am

    feeling ko soulmate kita. annoying talaga yung mga nasa list mo especially regine.

  16. Juvy
    February 29, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    Gretchen barreto! Grabe ang Pangit ng boses!sinong tanga ang bibili ng CD nya?

  17. teri
    March 10, 2008 at 1:56 am

    Hi I came across your list and I was really amused! #1 for me is Gretchen Barreto, and I agree with Juvy, she has no talent for singing at all! I mean, she has some guts huh…I’ve hated her eversince she became this ‘pa-high-class’ mistress..She’s so mayabang and acts as if she were born rich. She obviously stayed with Tonyboy for his money, everybody can see that. I pity her daughter, hopefully she does not become like her, so pretentious and so phony.

  18. March 11, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    Gretchen Barretto has been singing nonstop in all her interviews. Ok…FINE! you have an album! let those who actually WANT to hear you sing buy the album and let us innocent bystanders be… please stop singing on national TV.

  19. March 26, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    Hmmmm…..a number of showbiz people who piss mo off when I see them are on this list. Pede pakopya ng list? hehe

  20. yul
    April 10, 2008 at 10:15 am

    ive been living in europe for almost 20 years and damm i miss a lot philippines, sarap san pero tuwing nakikita ko na lang ang d same face d sme persons sa tv nakakirita lang sa totoo lang karamihan mga plastik yung iba ginagamit na lang ang show para makitang mabuting tao sila yung iba super arte yung iba pa slang slang pa ng english samantalang nasa pinas sila hay naku mas maganda pang manood na lang sa you tube

  21. yul
    April 10, 2008 at 10:17 am

    tignan mo na lang ang ang laman ng tv sa pina skuni kadramahan , awitan doon , d same na lang lagi at d same artista na lang, parehas lang din namn ng mga pulitko sa atin mga plastik din namn ang mga ugali, yun lang madami namn din nababliw sa mga shows nila hay naku imbes isipin pag unlad yung telenovela pa din

  22. DARIO BUCABAL
    April 23, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    i do hope that i will meet in person si willie revillame.

  23. cons
    April 28, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    Great list, pero cguro mganda kung mga 50 or 100 list para makasama lahat,including carlos agassi(nag pipilit maging hunk khit mukhang bombay n baduy), eric santos (nag papakalalake)manny paquiao (feeling wla ng pwede tumalo sa kanya) cristy fermin (ginagamit ang ibang tao para kumita ng pera)noli de castro…bentong…..wally ng eat bulaga….garci ng hello garci….mike arroyo….ted failon…..etc

  24. emperorbananaketchup
    June 13, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    I hardly watch local TV these days, but I’m in agreement with most in your list.

    Particularly Gretchen Barretto (no wonder she can afford to brand-drop, with a billionaire lover/ babydaddy), Manny Pacquiao, Willie Revillame (who isn’t even cute but definitely creepy).

    Yes, you can also add Judy Ann Santos/Ryan Agoncillo as well as DJ (Sch)Mo Twister

  25. ladypinkeagle
    June 19, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    taking a look at them boils my blood…
    on my list:

    1. JUN LOZADA
    2. SORIANO OF DATING DAAN
    3. CRISTY FERMIN

    CAN YOU NOTICE SOMETHING IN THEM IN COMMON? THEY CREATE TROUBLES AND MESS IN THE SOCIETY. THEY’RE SUCH DEVILS INCARNATE. MAY IT BE IN RELIGION, IN SHOWBIZNESS AND POLITICS….

    HOW I WISH SUCH PERSONALITIES EVAPORATE FROM THE FACE OF THE EARTH!

  26. ordinaryreportage
    August 8, 2008 at 9:59 pm

    I can’t really stand Willie Revillame, particularly when he cries (is that called crying?). I may hurt some of your feelings but I also can’t stand Manny Pacquiao (not for any particular reason .. just that I don’t like him). I definitely don’t even know why Judy Anne Santos is an actress and Ruffa seems to be a third-rate copy of Paris Hilton (minus the billions). I am an equal opportunity hater (oops.. ) so I hate BOTH Jinggoy Estrada and Mike Arroyo.

  27. August 8, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    @ordinaryreportage: don’t worry. there were some instances when I didn’t like Pacquiao–when he ran as congressman and when he made an album. 🙂

  28. ordinaryreportage
    August 20, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    You mean he actually had delusions of being the next Martin Nievera? Ohhh..la lah!

  29. gian
    August 21, 2008 at 10:08 am

    Hi!

    You should have included Jobert Sucaldito….tag team sila ni Ate Cristy.

    Jobert, Jobert…a face only a mother can love.

  30. August 22, 2008 at 2:04 am

    i hate Joey de Leon…

    wnat some article bout him…

    visit http://www.kapamilya101.co.nr

  31. August 22, 2008 at 9:36 am

    @KCentral: what a perfectly unbiased article (Just to be clear, I’m being sarcastic). I don’t agree with the blog entry you linked to (by the way, did you write it?). It got most of the more obvious facts right–which shows replaced which. Let me just clarify on some points:

    1) Tape transferred Eat Bulaga from RPN9 to ABS-CBN because RPN was having legal and financial problems. It was the only smart thing they could have done then.

    2) The rumored reason in the industry as to why Eat Bulaga left ABS-CBN is because ABS-CBN wanted to buy the show from TAPE. ABS-CBN did not “kick them out”. TAPE refused so they negotiated with GMA7 and transferred Bulaga there.

    3) Yes, there have been shows that almost toppled Eat Bulaga…Wowowee has higher ratings (???) BUT we should give snaps to the fact that Bulaga is the longest running noontime variety show in the Philippines. It still brings in revenues and is still quite competitive.

    Finally, I don’t blame you for disliking Joey de Leon. He does come off as obnoxious from time to time but I’d rather have his frank, brutish honesty than Willie’s saccharine, overly dramatic performances.

  32. lee
    August 29, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    R U kidding me?
    Master Showman is my favorite comedy show of all time. That and Ang Dating Daan and Ang Tamang Daan. You have to admit that it releases your tension after a weekend drinking spree esp. if Kuya G hands out Pilita’s Pizza to puzzled international guests like the Platters guy (Bobby?), the Korean popstar, etc You won’t get to see that in Letterman. Hav U seen the tandem of Nite and Hero? Sure beats the Ambiguously Gay Duo of SNL. I even taped Walang Tulugan shows for my enjoyment.
    The Buzz is my fave kiddie show. What’s not to like? You have Kokey, SHrek and Donkey and a Gucci wearing Morticia Addams all at the same show.
    Wowowee is my fave drama and public service show. Where can you see contestant (mostly toothless and baggy wearing) pouring their hearts out (ya know how miserable it was to line up for the show instead of say…working), blaming irresponsible dads for leaving them, etc, then some TFC subscribers taking pity then in a few seconds the contestant will showcase his talent by dancing “Lo”? You don’t get to see that in The Price is Right. And Valerie Concepcion, she’s the best Chinese host evah. If you can translate her hosting spiels then I will luv you forever.

    Love Joey DL. People hate his wit but he’s like George Carlin to me

  33. August 30, 2008 at 8:09 am

    I just saw Joey de Leon yesterday and it was the perfect opportunity to have my picture taken. Too bad nahiya lang ako! 🙂

    @lee: I loved how you described Walang Tulugan and Wowowee. Calling Wowowee a drama-variety show is just perfect! Can’t relate with The Buzz though since I don’t watch it. Who’s Kokey, Shrek, Donkey and Morticia?

  34. dx
    November 4, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    Willie Revillame should not be on TV at all. He is a digusting individual. Has been on several scandals, impregnated his Teen maid, harassed a media woman, has been on the center of the Stampede and his co-host calls him MAYABANG, and yet ABS-CBN choose to keep him. Charo Santos decision making should be checked. I think it is not on track at all.

    No wonder ABS is not being kicked in the butt by GMA who has been producing well created shows and soap opera and fantaserye.

  35. Travis
    January 7, 2009 at 2:54 am

    Personally, majority of filipino celebreties annoy the heck out me. They all act as if there shit don’t stink. gimme a break.

  36. nonamereply
    April 7, 2009 at 11:50 pm

    But what I wanna know is :
    ‘ where the fuck is Boy Abunda ‘ ?!?

  37. HagarenAddict
    January 14, 2010 at 9:50 pm

    honestly, almost everyone in the local showbiz scene is either annoying or just another attention whore. what really pissess me off are the local soap operas,all they do is yell at each others faces, cry and look pitifull. specially the women and children, I even had an argument with my folks about turning off the TV.

  38. author
    October 27, 2010 at 3:20 pm

    Isa lang masasabi ko, insecure lang ang gumawa nito. LOL. gimme a break. Who cares kung annoyed ka sa kanila? There are also lots of people na annoyed sa iyo. So tignan mo muna sarili mo bago ka magsalita. LOL

  39. October 27, 2010 at 3:33 pm

    @author: “who cares if annoyed ka sa kanila?”
    Apparently YOU cared enough to read through a blog entry posted over two years ago and even took the time to leave a comment. So thanks for dropping by.

  40. cristymustdie
    November 11, 2010 at 12:03 am

    author :Isa lang masasabi ko, insecure lang ang gumawa nito. LOL. gimme a break. Who cares kung annoyed ka sa kanila? There are also lots of people na annoyed sa iyo. So tignan mo muna sarili mo bago ka magsalita. LOL

    Hahahaha Loser ka author. Ikaw siguro si Cristy Fermin o kamag anak mo ang mga nasa list na ito? Tanga tanga mo. Hahahaha

    Hey I was browsing and reading your posts Psychogoddess. Nice. Good list on this post as well. ^^,

  41. November 29, 2011 at 11:13 pm

    thank you for this wonderful article that you have posted! make another one and this time, please put kris on top! 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment